We need to stock up on supplies…

We may not have a location for our occupation yet but that doesn’t mean we can’t start preparing for the inevitable. It’s time to commit! We are in for some very cold months and we need supplies! I’m going to start a collection point and I need everyone to pool their resources to find as many donations as possible. I’m talking about food, water, sleeping bags, tents, extra sweatshirts, jackets, beanies, pretty much anything you can think of that we definitely need for survival.  Lets be as careful as possible about not being wasteful, go for used and buy in bulk to keep the amount of trash low. Tell everyone you know to donate a sleeping bag or a pair of warm gloves, make them think it’s for you, who knows you might be right… Cmon! Play that sympathy card it can be fun… Check out free Craigslist ads and thrift stores, get creative, and don’t even think about going to Wal-Mart… Freeze em out!

If you would like to make a donation of supplies please contact Jared at

jlowellunr2@live.com

8 responses to “We need to stock up on supplies…

  1. I would like to donate but I have no way to get the things you need to you. Will there be someone to help with picking items up?

  2. I may not be able to march with you today, I will make it to the 1 p.m. part,I just got a message about your page and that we had a movment in reno thats not just a one time shot.
    I fully support this and in support if I cant stand with my brothers and sisters, Then I will do what I can to help feed and keep them warm who do I email to help in this?

  3. Why the “make them think it’s for you” comment? I can’t believe you’re actually asking people to be dishonest about why they want their friends (friends, mind you) to donate a sleeping bag. What in the world does lying to my friend accomplish? Is this how you plan to run this, on lies and deceit?

    • It was meant to bring a little humor to an increasingly difficult situation…. Also I did add that “it may very well be for you” if you so choose to come down and stand with your people. Let’s try not to go after eachother here, work together and stay focused but remember that personal expression is a right we are moving to protect and it can keep the human spirit alive!

      >Jared

  4. Milton Maxwell

    What an insensitve comment about freezing out Wal Mart. My mother, who has cancer, gets up every day to sweep floors and clean toilets at Wal Mart. All so she can feed and clothe her kids.
    Every time you decide to drive by Wal Mart and “freeze them out”, you kill my mother.

    But go ahead and get your little group together for your cause.

    Soon my mom will be dead because of you. Bow your heads in silence while I offer this prayer…

    Dear mother, thank you for not going downtown to Occupy Reno, instead waking up in the middle of the night after Chemo to clean toilets and sweep floors at Walmart. Because you will be dying soon as a result of this movement, I wish nothing but the best for you in the afterlife. Rest in peace. Amen.

    • I can only speak for myself when I say, “What is happening to your mother is absolutely wrong and needs to be stopped.” I don’t want to be misunderstood in any way here so I will only say one more thing, “I hope someday you will see that we are doing this so that people like your Mother will never have to suffer needlessly again because of inmproper healthcare and outrageous hospital bills…. So that the powers that be can drive nicer cars. This is bigger than any one person but we all matter…. We are trying to unite for the purpose of bringing an end to the criminal acts that were committed against your mother and countless others like her….. I want to emphasize that I am seriously upset that I offended you in this way and I apologize… You know Milton it is stories like yours that make me feel that this has to happen for the continuation of our species. We have to start changing how we view eachother, as people not profits.

      I see you and your mother as people, people I feel obligated to stand up for and move towards a brighter future for the billions that will follow us….

      >Jared

  5. yes! i love the emphasis on bringing bulk and re-used goods. to live in solidarity with the movement, i feel we need to begin detaching from the corporations. i feel we need to be encouraging and practicing anything we can to move toward being more self-sustained and un-plugged. TAKE it back. nice.